Pictured are (L to R) front row, first place: Armani Sumpter; and second place: Nigel Johnson. Second row are judges, Monique Kinlock, Mary L. Darby, and Sadie Cooper. Photo by Harmon Cooper, Jr.

Armani Sumpter, a Carvers Bay High School senior, placed first and Nigel Johnson, a C. E. Murray High School senior, placed second in the 11th Masonic District Essay Scholarship Elimination Contest. All of the contestants received a cash award at the district level, and Sumpter won the opportunity to participate in the Grand Lodge Four Thousand Dollar Scholarship. Parents, family members, and friends were there to support and encourage the seniors.

The 11th Masonic District, which includes Georgetown and Williamsburg counties, held the 11th Masonic District Essay Contest on Saturday, March 25, at the United Order Home Charity Lodge, 402 Cottonwood Street, Andrews.


Pictured (L to R) are first row: Na-Dya Gamble-C.E. Murray High School; Latia Harvin-C.E. Murray High School; Tangi Smith-Andrews High School; and Lakeeva Wilson-Georgetown High School. Second row are Tyson Mention-Carvers Bay High School; Nigel Johnson-C.E. Murray High School; and Radisha Hudson-Andrews High School. Third row are David Britton, Sr. - chairman of Scholarship Committee; Montrel Coles-Carvers Bay High School; Tyesha Wilson-Carvers Bay High School; Armani Sumpter-Carvers Bay High School; and Harmon Cooper Jr. – committee member. Photo by Harmon Cooper, Jr.

The district conducted the local elimination contest based upon the Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of South Carolina contest requirements.

Sumpter will represent the 11th Masonic District in the state competition with other district finalists from the across the state for The Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge Of Free and Accepted Masons Of South Carolina Four Thousand Dollar Scholarship. The contest will be held on May 20, at the Masonic Temple in Columbia.

The 11th Masonic District Essay judges were Sister Monique Kinlock, Sister Mary L. Darby, and Sister Sadie Cooper; and the District Essay Scholarship Elimination Contest Committee consists of Bro. David Britton, Sr.- chairman, Bro. Gilmore McManus, Bro. Mark Easterling, Bro. Harmon Cooper, Jr., Bro. Tyrone Frasier and District Deputy-Bro. Wayne Davis. Bro. Leonard Nelson-district treasurer and Bro. Andre Rivers-W.M. were also present to support the scholarship competition.