Seven area high schools competed in the 20th annual Williamsburg Technical College (WTC) Math Contest on February 1. 

Among the schools participating were Andrews High School, Carver’s Bay High School, C.E. Murray High School, Georgetown High School, Johnsonville High School, Kingstree Senior High School, and Williamsburg Academy.

This is the first time that Andrews High School has won the WTC Math Contest. This year’s winning team consisted of instructor Christine Butler and students Jervonia Miller, Sims Hutto, Sully Hutto, Kameron Johnson, and Leah Cooper.  

Johnsonville High School placed second in the contest and Georgetown High School placed third. The second and third place teams won plaques and medallions as well as monetary prizes, second place won $100 and third place won $50 for their schools math budget from the WTC Foundation. Members of the first place team also won medallions, trophy and were awarded $200 for their math budget from the Williamsburg Technical College Foundation.  

All participants were given 2019 WTC Math Contest shirt and participation medallions. 

Andrews High School, as the winning team, will have their school name engraved on the coveted “Ein-stein” trophy which features team names of all past WTC Math Contest winners.  The trophy will be housed and displayed at Andrews High School for one year.